IMPORTANT! Due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) health crisis events on our calendar may be canceled or postponed.

OKC Bombing Memorial for Edmond Victims

Collection: Publicly Owned
Location: Mitch Park
OKC Bombing Memorial for Edmond Victims

Sponsor: Provided by Civic Groups, individual donors and City of Edmond prior to the Edmond Visual Arts Commission

The Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial for Edmond Victims was placed in a quiet area of Mitch Park in honor of the eighteen Edmond residents that lost their lives on April 19, 1995 in the bombing of the Murrah Building in Oklahoma City.

Diane E. Althouse, Paul Broxterman, Robert Chipman, Benjamin Davis, Carrol Fields, Ethel L Griffin, Christi Jenkins, Donald Ray Leonard, James A McCarthy, Kenneth McCullough, Pat Nix, Antonio (Tony) Reyes, Jules Valdez, Johnny Wade, David Jack Walker, Michael Weaver, Alan G. Whicher and Ronota Ann Woodbridge.

The text on the Memorial reads:

The quiet boom that rattled windows in Edmond on April 19, 1995, could have been thunder. Distant booms are common here on the prairie in the spring. Within minutes, though, the world knew that the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in downtown Oklahoma City had been bombed. Within seconds, 168 Oklahomans died. Eighteen Edmond residents were among the dead.

Two of them had protected presidents. Killed in the blast were a former city council candidate, a mother of four and a pavement engineer. There was a drug enforcement agent and an assistant in the same office. There were a Marine Corps sergeant, two financial analysts and an avid youth sports coach.

In the rubble was a man who moved to Oklahoma the December before the bombing, and another had been here only two weeks. Killed was a mother that sa

View more


Artist: Architect, Duane Mass

Contact information




Medium type: Bronze; Stone / Marble

Date created: 1997